Easter Sunday, photo-trip through Snake Pass and Nottingham, United Kingdom

This Easter Sunday I have been planning for a while. I have been scheduled to referee a sitting volleyball GP in Kettering in Midlands, GB on Bank Holiday Monday. As it’s a while from Manchester I have been thinking how to use a free day and don’t get on location tired after a long drive. The solution has become to be very simple. Go a day before, take some pictures and write a story. So here it is a short story about trip from Manchester to Kettering through Peak District, Snake Pass and Nottingham.

One more thing… I forgot to mention! Now, I have added a special functionality to all new images… if you click on them they will bring you to a street view in Google Maps of the photo location (of course if it is available, if not there will be a normal map point view – again if it will be available) – this functionality I’m using here as a test to get your feedback about it, so please let me know what do you think

I have found an interesting description of the Snake Pass in Wikipedia so please allow me instead of trying to explain to you what that is I have pasted the whole general description:

The Snake Pass is the name given to the higher reaches of the A57 road where it crosses the Peak District between ManchesterSheffield in the north of England. and

More specifically, the name usually refers to the section between the town of Glossop and the Ladybower reservoir, where the road passes over the high ground between the moorland plateaux of Kinder Scout and Bleaklow (the highest point is 512 meters (1,680 ft) above sea level).

The road was first built as a toll road in 1820 as the most direct route between the two cities. In the 20th century the more northerly route of the Woodhead Pass, which is less steep and at a lower altitude, became the primary road link between Manchester and Sheffield.

The Snake Pass passes through the National Trust‘s High Peak Estate, and lies within the High Peak borough of Derbyshire. Much of it falls within the Hope Woodlands parish.

The location of the Peak District I have attached on this Google map

Following the Snake Road I have reached Ashopton that is a small village over the Ladybower Reservoir.Again I will use here the Wikipedia description to let you what that is… “Ladybower Reservoir is a large Y-shaped reservoir, the lowest of three in the Upper Derwent Valley in Derbyshire, England. The River Ashop flows into the reservoir from the west; the River DerwentHowden Reservoir, then Derwent Reservoir, and finally through Ladybower Reservoir. Its longest dimension is just over 3 miles, and at the time of construction it was the largest reservoir in Britain.”

Before I got to see the dam and the reservoir I have noticed a nice house, glowing in the Sun so I took 3 exposures of that view and look what did I got from it:

VA6013, High Peak, House with a three

A6013, High Peak, House with a three

The overflow system used for this particular dam has surprised me as that was the first time I have seen that type of solution. I need to admit that I don’t know anything about it’s functionality it’s much more quiet than the ‘stacking / waterfall’ system. Personally I’ve got much more interested in the view of the other side… the way how the water is released to the river at the bottom of the dam. So again, trying to catch up something more, I have used bracketing and merged 3 exposures afterward creating this surprising (for me) view…

Ladybower Reservoir Spilway

Ladybower Reservoir Spillway, from the top

And with this picture I will end up the first part of this Easter Photowalk. Please don’t forget to put your comments, they are always welcome. If you wish to follow me you can always link up with my Twitter profile at http://www.twitter.com/dybowski or if you are interested in some other of my photography please look at my Flicker photos or my portfolio website at http://www.dybowski.me.uk.

3 thoughts on “Easter Sunday, photo-trip through Snake Pass and Nottingham, United Kingdom

  1. Michal, I notice with lots of HDR shots that they come out very flat. Take “Snake Rd, North West view” for example, try using curves to give it some contrast. I know you used HDR to get rid of extreme contrast, but when it is all gone and everything looks like a midtone, the image lacks some depth and interest. Give it a try. In Photoshop create a curve adjustment layer and apply “linear contrast” and increase it until you are happy with it. Also try on the spillway shot.

    • Thank you Terry for your comments. The Picture you have mentioned is not an HDR. It was made from 1 exposure only RAW file and tonemapped but that’s not n actual HDR. I will try to tune it better as you advised. Thanks a lot again.

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Easter Sunday, photo-trip through Snake Pass and Nottingham, United Kingdom « Dybowski's Design & Photography Blog -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

